Caramel Apple Spice Cake

There are those times when you have a sweet tooth, but you’re not craving chocolate. Trust me, I have plenty of said moments. When I do, I like to reach for something with apples in it. So, I thought to myself…what better way to incorporate one of my favorite fruits into a warm, wonderful dessert that is not a pie shell? Here is what I came up with:

Cinnamon spice and everything nice

Cinnamon spice and everything nice

I started by eyeballing around three tablespoons of ground cinnamon into my favorite spice cake box mix. After combining the dry ingredients, I added one cup of water and stirred.

Cinnamon Applesauce makes this cake even better

Cinnamon Applesauce makes this cake even better

Rather than adding vegetable oil into the cake batter, I substituted cinnamon applesauce, 3/4 of a cup, to make the batter super rich, without the worry of excess fat and calories. The added texture of the applesauce really makes this cake something special. This is a trick that my late, great mother taught me a while ago, and I’ve stuck to it ever since. Trust me, people, I’ll never lead you astray in the kitchen.

Time to melt the caramels

Time to melt the caramels

Instead of weighing an already rich cake down with a mountain of frosting, I decided to keep it simple and dress it with a nice caramel sauce. Making a fresh sauce is easy, and certainly cheaper than buying the jarred stuff. Simply add a dozen caramels to a small saucepan with 1/2 cup of milk and two tablespoons of butter. Continuously watch this, folks, because you don’t want it to burn. Whisk it constantly to prevent sticking.

Batter is looking good

Batter is looking good

Let your batter rest for twenty minutes, allowing the applesauce to break down and really combine with the dry ingredients. While it rests, tend to that wonderfully luscious caramel sauce that’s on your stove top.

Sauce looks great

Sauce looks great

After your sauce is completed, reduce the heat to low, and keep an eye on it, occasionally stirring every five to ten minutes. Now, the apples can be prepared for the cake. For this recipe, I like to use a wonderful red delicious apple, but whatever you have on hand will work well. Peel, core, and dice your apples, and throw them into the bottom of a pre-greased 9×13 baking sheet.

Apple cutting time

Apple cutting time

Into the pan they go

Into the pan they go

(Rowen pro-tip: ALWAYS grease your pans with butter, not oil. The butter will add additional richness to your cakes that oil just can’t do.) Now, pour your batter on top of the apples, and bake the cake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for thirty minutes.

Oven ready

Oven ready

After ensuring the cake is completely cooked, drizzle the warm caramel sauce over the top. Is the cake absorbing the sauce? Wonderful, that’s what it’s supposed to do. Allow your cake to set for another few minutes, and then it will be ready to serve.

Time to eat!

Time to eat!

Now, you don’t have to serve it exactly like I do, but I prefer serving this cake with a heaping scoop of quality vanilla bean ice cream. It’s also wonderful with whipped cream, or as a stand alone. Serve it however you’d like. I don’t judge.

Stay Hungry, Friends!

RS

Leave a comment