Southwest Egg Rolls

So I’m sure you’ve heard of Southwest Egg Rolls, they’re really popular at Chili’s and 54th Street Bar and Grill. Since I’m in the middle of nowhere, Missouri, I had to remake these beautifully wrapped and fried southwestern pieces of goodness for myself. Now, I’m not saying that I’m going to put Chili’s out of business with my Southwest Egg Rolls, but I definitely could. Here’s how I did it:

It looks like a bumblebee doesn't it?

It looks like a bumblebee doesn’t it?

I started by draining a can of corn and a can of black beans and throwing them into a bowl. Next, I cooked and drained a bag of frozen spinach, and added it to the corn and beans. Then, I added a can of Ro-Tel Tomatoes and Green Chilies, then seasoned the veggies with salt, pepper, chili powder, and garlic powder.

Southwest Veggie Convention in my bowl

Southwest Veggie Convention in my bowl

Next, I added one pound of shredded white meat chicken and stirred it in. I added some extra chili powder for flavor. After the mixture is done, set it aside and let the flavors marry together.

Shredded Chicken time

Shredded Chicken time

All mixed up.

All mixed up.

After letting the mixture sit for a half hour, grab your egg roll wrappers from the fridge and get ready to tuck, fold, and roll. I grabbed my egg roll wrappers from Hy-Vee, next to the produce section. While you’re getting the wrappers ready, melt one half stick of butter and grab a pastry brush.

Egg Roll Under Construction

Egg Roll Under Construction

Take two tablespoons of the mixture and form a small log in the middle of the wrapper. Brush the edges with the melted butter, so the dough will stick and seal. Fold the egg roll like a burrito, tucking the sides in. Keep wrapping until you run out of southwest mix.

Egg Roll Overview

Egg Roll Overview

It's Frying Time!

It’s Frying Time!

Now, find a deep skillet and fill it with an inch of canola oil, and heat the oil over medium high heat. Here’s a Rowen pro-tip to check if your oil is fry-ready. Put the end of a wooden cooking spoon in the oil. If it bubbles, it’s ready. Trust me, I’ll never lead you astray in the kitchen. My deep skillet allowed for two egg rolls at a time, but if your skillet is larger, by all means fry three or four. Do not overcrowd your skillet, however, because you don’t want you oil’s temperature to fall.

We're almost there!

We’re almost there!

While you wait, make a dipping sauce for your egg rolls. Take some Frank’s Red Hot Sweet Chili Sauce, and a small bottle of your favorite ranch dressing and combine it in a bowl. Add some chili powder, garlic powder, salt, and pepper for taste. Your sauce should look somewhat like this:

#sauceboss

Now, once you are done frying your egg rolls, serve them with the sauce to friends, company, or just eat them all yourself. I don’t judge. Making egg rolls at home is so easy, and you can put almost anything inside them, so there’s plenty of room to get creative.

Time to eat!

Time to eat!

Stay Hungry, Friends!

RS

Leave a comment