Operation: Get Rowen a Food Network Tailgating Show!!!

Nothing brings me more joy than cooking for a crowd of people. So naturally, I decided to invite some friends over and cook some awesome food. This post is going to be a little bit different, because I’m cooking multiple things at once. I’m trying this to see if I can actually cook like one of those fancy Food Network chefs that I aspire to become one day. Let me go ahead and preview the menu for today’s tailgating excursion. I’m making my famous loaded Ro-Tel Nachos, Boneless Asian Zing Wings, Buffalo Chicken Dip, and my Spinach and Sun Dried Tomato Flatbread. To start, I will turn to my trusty, ruby red crock pot.

My crock pot is stunning, isn't it?

My crock pot is stunning, isn’t it?

I’m going to start with the Ro-Tel Nachos. These have been a part of my tailgating tradition for as long as I can remember. My mom used to make these when I was a kid, and I fell in love with them. I’m going to take a large block of 2% milk velveeta and a can of Ro-Tel tomatoes and green chilies. and put them into the crock pot. I’m setting the temperature for high, so I can get that cheese melting before I turn it down to simmer. Cube the block of cheese and drain off the excess liquid from the tomatoes and chilies.

Nachos are underway.

Nachos are underway.

Next, I’m going to brown up two pounds of ground beef. I like to use 80/20 beef, but feel free to use whatever ground beef  you’ve got on hand. I’m just going to salt and pepper the beef because I don’t want it to overpower the Ro-Tel mix.  I’m going to drain off the excess grease, and throw it into the crock pot. Then I’m throwing on the lid, and forgetting about it for the next twenty minutes.

Beef. It's what should be the centerpiece of most meals.

Beef. It’s what should be the centerpiece of most meals.

Next, I’m going to start on my buffalo chicken dip. I got this recipe from my dear friend, Paige Hamilton, back in 2011.  I’m taking three cans of Tyson White Meat Chicken Breast, and throwing it into my largest saucepan with 3/4 of a large bottle of Frank’s Red Hot Sauce. This recipe that I’m giving you is slightly different from the recipe on the bottle. Follow mine, because it’s better. Why? Because I say so. I’ll never lead you astray with food.

DSC02451

Hot Sauce and Chicken smell like bliss.

To this hot pot of chicken and buffalo goodness, I am going to add two blocks of cream cheese, brought to room temperature. I’m also going to throw in one small container of blue cheese. Use a mild blue cheese, not anything strong like Roqueford Blue. This dip is called buffalo, not blue.

It smells so good!

It smells so good!

Now, it’s wing time. You all know that I love boneless wings, and I love throwing condiments, herbs, and spices together to make some delicious sauce. Today’s sauce is my sexy, Asian zing wing sauce. To start the boneless wings, throw your favorite warm and serve wings into a baking pan and preheat your oven. That’s simple enough, right?

Wings and Buffalo Chicken Dip on deck.

Wings and Buffalo Chicken Dip on deck.

Now, onto my Asian zing sauce. I’m going to start with a small bottle of Frank’s Sweet Chili Sauce, and throw it in a small saucepan. Next, I’m adding my personal favorite condiment, Triple D Smoke Sauce, three heaping tablespoons, to the Sweet Chili Sauce. Then, I’ll add one tablespoon of honey to the pan.

Sauce.

Sauce.

I’m going to simmer this sauce over low heat for ten minutes. My house smells amazing right now, and I wish you were here. All there is to do now is wait for the wings to finish in the oven. While we wait, let’s check on our nachos.

Nachos on deck.

Nachos on deck.

This crock pot is doing a wonderful job melting the nachos into amazing, cheesy lava goodness. Now, I can turn the crock pot down to low, just to keep the cheese warm. I’m going to start arranging my table, because the hungry people are on their way.

My table is starting to fill out.

My table is starting to fill out.

I’ve moved the Buffalo Chicken dip and the Asian Zing wings to my table, and I’ve put out some crackers and tortilla chips for the dip and nachos. Now, I can start on the most important part of the tailgate meal.

Kelly and Cade are hungry.

Kelly and Cade are hungry.

I better get a move on, people are here early and they want food. I can finally start on my Spinach and Sun Dried Tomato Flatbread. I have tweaked this recipe to make it vegan friendly. Also, this dish contains no meat. Please stop gasping, I know how to meat-free when I want to. Let’s get started. First, I’m throwing a bag of frozen, chopped spinach into my skillet.

I'm in the home stretch!

I’m in the home stretch!

I’m adding a jar of sun dried tomato paste to the spinach, and letting it cook together for five to six minutes. If you thought the last few dishes were aromatic, you ain’t smelled nothing yet.

Glade should release an aerosol fragrance of this.

Glade should release an aerosol fragrance of this.

DSC02462

Flatbread is finally on deck.

Now, I’m going to throw the spinach mixture onto two whole wheat pizza crusts, and top it with some dairy free vegan shredded cheese. I’ve got my oven set for 450 degrees, and the flatbread will bake for ten minutes, just to melt the cheese. After ten minutes, my flatbread is ready to slice and serve. My house is full now, so I’ve got to finish up here. ESPN is blaring on my TV, and the guests are waiting for food. I hope you enjoyed my tailgate prep. Now if you don’t mind, I have football stats to watch.

Stay Hungry.

RS

2 thoughts on “Operation: Get Rowen a Food Network Tailgating Show!!!

  1. Hey Rowen! I’m really digging the titles of your postings. So much personality! I’d be so interested in collaborating with you sometime and extending the Kirksville blogging community! Peace&Progress

Leave a comment